Skip To Content
May 26, 2022

Rep. Aguilar Announces Over $600,000 for Inland Empire Affordable Housing Programs

SAN BERNARDINO, CA — Today, Rep. Pete Aguilar announced $602,000 in grant funding from NeighborWorks America for two nonprofit housing assistance programs in San Bernardino County. Neighborhood Housing Services of the Inland Empire, Inc. (NHSIE) received $322,000 and Neighborhood Partnership Housing Services (NPHS) received $280,000.

“Affordable housing and homelessness are two of the biggest issues facing the Inland Empire,” said Rep. Aguilar. “I am grateful for the work both NHSIE and NPHS are doing to help families in our community find good homes and revitalize our local economy. I will continue to be a strong advocate for funding that helps residents and families in our region access affordable housing.”

“NHSIE is a trusted partner in this region. With these funds we will be able to continue to advance our mission that is more important than ever,” said Kailin Scott, NHSIE Deputy Director. “We would like to thank Congressman Aguilar for his partnership and continued support in believing everyone in the IE deserves safe and affordable housing. Partnerships such as this one will make our commitment a reality.”

“The NeighborWorks America funding supports NPHS’ efforts in uplifting underserved communities throughout the Inland Valley,” stated Clemente Mojica, NPHS CEO. “The funding will allow NPHS to make strides towards closing the racial wealth gap and create neighborhoods where all families have the opportunity to achieve housing and economic security.”

NeighborWorks America was established by Congress in 1978. For over 40 years, this organization has worked in partnership with representatives in local government and the private sector to address affordable housing and community development challenges in urban, suburban and rural communities in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

Rep. Aguilar serves as Vice Chair of the House Democratic Caucus and as a member of the House Committee on Appropriations.