Skip To Content
November 16, 2022

Rep. Aguilar Announces Over $9 Million to Improve Air Quality in the Inland Empire

WASHINGTON, DC — Today, Rep. Pete Aguilar announced $9,342,502 of federal funding for the Omnitrans Zero Emission Buses, Fueling and Workforce Development Project. This Department of Transportation funding will support and expand the Inland Empire’s zero-emission bus fleet, create better-paying jobs and enhance air-quality in the region.

“Transitioning to zero-emission buses is an important step we must take to improve air quality in our region and combat climate change,” said Rep. Pete Aguilar. “I will continue to advocate for more federal dollars to make sure our transit system is better for the environment and the health of our community, and to ensure we have the infrastructure to support a transition to zero-emission vehicles.”

“Since we introduced the nation’s first hybrid-electric transit bus in 2002, Omnitrans has prioritized enhancing air quality in our region,” said Omnitrans CEO/General Manager Erin Rogers. “We are grateful for Representative Aguilar’s support in this effort and will utilize this grant funding to further our zero emissions fleet goals by purchasing four fuel cell electric buses and formalizing the agency’s zero emissions mechanical apprenticeship program with San Bernardino Valley College.” 

The Omnitrans Zero Emission Buses, Fueling and Workforce Development Project will allow for four 40-foot fuel cell electric buses and a transportable hydrogen refueling station in San Bernardino. This project will also help support Omnitrans goal of converting its 40-foot bus fleet to zero emissions, to improve air quality in the Inland Empire. Additionally, the project includes workforce development activities, including training and a new apprenticeship program in partnership with San Bernardino Valley College to develop workforce skills in maintaining zero emission buses.

Rep. Aguilar serves as Vice Chair of the House Democratic Caucus and as a member of the House Committee on Appropriations, the Committee on House Administration and the Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the US Capitol.