Skip To Content
January 19, 2024

Rep. Aguilar and Sen. Padilla Announce $63 Million for Electric Vehicle Infrastructure

Today, Rep. Pete Aguilar announced alongside U.S. Senator Alex Padilla that the state will be receiving $63,702,988 from the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)’s Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger Reliability and Accessibility Accelerator to repair and replace existing, non-operational publicly accessible EV charging ports.

Currently, transportation is responsible for approximately 50 percent of greenhouse gas emissions and 80 percent of air pollutants in California. By increasing the number of reliable, functional EV chargers across the state, this project is expected to lower carbon emissions and improve the health of residents by decreasing air pollution in the region.

“I’m proud that California is receiving this critical funding as we work to combat climate change and improve the health of Californians,” said Rep. Pete Aguilar. “This transition to clean, zero-emission vehicles will bring more good-paying job opportunities and decrease air pollution for Inland Empire residents.”

“Thanks to the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, California will receive nearly $64 million to improve EV charging stations across the state,” said Senator Alex Padilla. “Accelerating the adoption of an electric-vehicle powered future requires a strong, reliable, accessible charging network across the state.”  

“This funding will allow California to continue to lead the nation in zero-emission-vehicle adoption, increasing reliability and cutting planet-warming pollution,” said California State Transportation Secretary Toks Omishakin. “We want to thank the Biden-Harris Administration, Sen. Alex Padilla, and the state’s Congressional delegation for supporting the expansion of a charging network throughout the state while combatting climate change.”

This grant was funded by the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, which Rep. Aguilar and Senator Padilla helped pass in 2021.

Rep. Aguilar serves as Chair of the House Democratic Caucus and as a member of the House Committee on Appropriations.